19.00 a Month: (855) 534-2931
questions

Do You Know?

Qualify for cheap car insurance by swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes
cheap insurance

Safety Tip

Cars with High safty ratings can easily get you the most affordable car Insurance Today
affordable auto insurance

Savings Tip

Insurance companys offer cheap car insurance all you have do is ask for the lowest rate to cover

Trip Calculator

Driver’s Test

Could you pass a driver's test today? Find out - take our Rules of the Road quiz now. quiz Quiz Start arrow

Child Safety Seat Laws in each State - Resources

State Child Safety Seat Requirements Adult Seat Belt Penalty for First Offense
Alabama Rear-facing infant seats must be used for children 1 and under or weighing 20 pounds or less; children between 1 and 4 must use a forward-facing car seat. Children between 5 and 6 should use a booster seat. May be used by children between the ages of six and fourteen. $25 plus points added to driving record
Alaska Children 20 pounds or less or under the age of 1 must be in a rear-facing car seat. Children weighing great than 20 pounds or between the ages of 1 and 4 must be in an age appropriate car seat. Children between the ages of 4 and 7 or weighing between 20 and 64 pounds, or are 57” tall must use a booster seat. An adult seat belt may be used with children older than four-years-old or who weigh more than 65 pounds, or are at least 57” tall. Children between the ages of 8 and 16 may wear a seat belt if the weigh more than 65 pounds or are at least 57” tall. $50 plus points added to driving record
American Samoa Infant car seats are required for children under four-years-old Seat belts may be worn by children older than four-years-old. No information is available
Arizona Infant car seats are required for children five or younger. Adult seat belts are not allowed for young children. The Maximum fine for a first time offense is $50.
Arkansas Child safety seats are required for children five-years-old and younger and those who weigh less than 60 pounds. Seat belts are allowed for children between the ages of six and fourteen and those that weight more than 60 pounds. The maximum fine for a first offense is $100.
California Child car seats are for children under the age of eight and who are less than 57” tall. Adult seatbelts may be worn by children between the ages of 8 and 15, or who are more than 57” tall. The maximum penalty is $435 with points added to the driving record.
Colorado Children younger than one and who weigh 20 pounds or less must use a rear-facing car seat. Children between the ages of 1 and 3 who weight between 20 and 40 pounds may use an appropriate child seat. Children between the ages of 4 and 7 may use a booster seat. Children between the ages of eight and fifteen may wear seat belts. The maximum penalty if $82.
Connecticut Children one or younger or who weigh less than 20 pounds must be restrained in a rear-facing car seat. Children between the ages of one and six or who weigh 60 pounds or less must be in an appropriate seat or booster. Boosters must use a lap or lap and shoulder belt. Children between the ages of 7and 1, or who weigh 60 pounds or more may use adult seat belts. The maximum penalty is $60. For children 4-16 and weighing more than 40 pounds, the fine is $15.
Delaware Children seven-years-old and younger and weighing 60 pounds or less must be in a child car seat. Children between the ages of 8 and 15 or weigh 66 pounds or more may wear a seat belt. The maximum fine for a first offense is $25.
D.C. Children 7-years-old and younger must be restrained in a car seat. Children and teens between the ages of 8 and 15 may wear seat belts. The maximum fine for a first offense is $75 plus points added to the driving record.
Florida Children 3-years-old and younger must use car seats. Children between the ages of 8 and 15 may wear an adult seat belt. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $60 plus points on the driving record.
Georgia Children 8 and younger and those 57” tall and less must use a car seat. Children who are at least 57” tall and weigh 40 pounds or more may use an adult, rear- seat belt. The maximum fine is $50 plus points on the record.
Guam Children 12-years-old and under must use a car seat or booster chair. Children 12 and over may use a seat belt. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $100.
Hawaii Children 3 and younger must be in a car seat. Ages 4 to 7 must use a booster seat. Children at least 57” tall and weigh at least 40 pounds may sit in the rear seat with a lap and shoulder belt. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $100.
Idaho Children seven and younger must use car seats. Seat belt use is not allowed for young children.

The maximum penalty for a first offense is $79.

Illinois Children seven and younger must use car seats. Children between 8 and 15, who weigh more than 40 pounds, may use a seat belt in the rear seat. Lap and shoulder combinations are preferred, but if shoulder belts are unavailable, the child may use a lap belt. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $75.
Indiana Children seven and younger must use car seats. Children between 8 and 15, who weigh more than 40 pounds, may use a seat belt in the rear seat. Lap and shoulder combinations are preferred, but if shoulder belts are unavailable, the child may use a lap belt. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $25 plus points on the driving record.
Iowa Children one and under or 20 pounds or less must use a rear facing infant seat. Those between one and five must use an age appropriate child restraint. Children between 6 and 17 may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $25.
Kansas Children three years old and under must use an age appropriate car seat. Children between 4 and 7 may use a booster seat.The rear seat is preferable. Children between 8 and 13 may use a seat belt in the rear seat. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $60.
Kentucky Children younger than six and less than 40” tall must use an age and size appropriate car seat. Children between 40” and 50” must use a booster seat. Children six and over and who stand at least 50” tall may use a rear seat belt. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $50 for a car seat and $30 for a booster.
Louisiana Children one and under or 20 pounds or less must use a rear facing infant seat. Those between one and three, and who weigh between 20 and 39 pounds must use a forward facing seat. Children between 4 and 5 and weigh between 40 and 60 pounds may use a booster. Children between six and 12 who weight at least 60 pounds may use a rear seat belt. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $100.
Maine Children less than 40 pounds must use an age appropriate car seat. Children who weigh between 40 and 80 pounds must ensure they are in a booster seat that allows for proper seat belt placement. Children less than 100 pounds should sit in the rear seat. Children between the ages of 8 and 17 or and stand at least 57” may use a seat belt. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $50.
Maryland Children eight and under, who weigh 65 pounds and less, and stand 57” or less must use an appropriate car seat. The rear seat is preferable. Children between the ages of 8 and 15, who weigh at least 65 pounds and who stand at least 57” tall, may use a seat belt. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $25.
Massachusetts Children seven and younger and less than 57” tall must use car seats. Children between the ages of 8 and 12 and who stand at least 57” may use a seat belt. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $25.
Michigan Children seven and younger and less than 57” tall must use car seats. Children between the ages of 8 and 15 and who stand at least 57” may use a seat belt. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $10.
Minnesota Children seven and younger and less than 57” tall must use car seats. Children at least 8-years-old, and who stand at least 57” may use a seat belt. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $50.
Mississippi Children four and under must use an age appropriate car seat. Those between the ages of 4 and 6 and are between 57” and weigh 65 pounds and less must use a booster seat. Children at least 7-years-old, who weigh 65 pounds or more, and who stand at least 57” tall, may use a seat belt. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $25.
Missouri Children four-years-old and younger or 40 pounds and less must use an appropriate car seat. Children between 4 and 7 and stand less than 57” must use a booster seat. The rear seat is preferred. Children between the ages of 8 and 16 who weigh 80 pounds or more and stand at least 57” tall may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $50 and $10 for children less than 80 pounds or 57” tall.
Montana Children six and under, and who weigh less than 60 pounds must use a car seat. Seat belt use is not allowed for young children. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $100.
Nebraska Infant car seats are required for children under five-years-old. Children between the ages of 6 and 17 may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $25 plus points on the driving record.
Nevada Infant car seats are required for children under six-years-old and who weigh 60 pounds or less. Seat belt use is not allowed for young children. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $500.
New Hampshire Infant car seats are required for children under five-years-old and stand 55” or less. Children between the ages of 6 and 17, and who are at least 55” tall may use seat belts in the back seat. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $50.
New Jersey Infant car seats are required for children under eight-years-old and weigh 80 pounds or less. A rear seat is preferable. Seat belt use is not allowed for young children. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $25 and court fees.
New Mexico Children one and under or 20 pounds or less must use a rear facing infant seat. Those between one and four, and who weigh less than 40 pounds must use an appropriate car seat. Children between 5 and 6 and weigh less than 60 pounds may use a booster. Children between the ages of 7 and 17 may use seatbelts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $25.
New York Children three and younger, and who weigh less than 40 pounds must use an age appropriate car seat. Children between 4 and 7 may use a booster seat with lap and shoulder seat belt. Children between the ages of 8 and 15 may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $100 plus points on the driving record.
North Carolina Children seven and younger and less than 80 pounds must use car seats. Children between the ages of 8 and 15 or who weigh between 40 and 80 pounds may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $25, $188 for court costs and points on the driving record.
North Dakota Children seven and younger, who weigh less than 80 pounds, and are 57” tall or less must use car seats. Children between the ages of 7 and 17, who weigh at least 80 pounds or are at least 57” tall may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $25 plus a point on the driving record.
Northern Mariana Islands Children five and younger and who weigh less than 70 pounds must use car seats. Children who are at least five-years-old and weigh at least 70 pounds. The maximum penalty for a first offense varies between $50 and $250.
Ohio Infant car seats are required for children under four-years-old and weigh less than 40 pounds. Children who weigh more than 40 pounds and are between 4 and 7 must use a booster seat. Children between the ages of 8 and 14 may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $75.
Oklahoma Infant car seats are required for children under five-years-old Children between the ages of 6 and 12 and who weigh at least 40 pounds may use a seat belt in the rear seat. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $50 but may exceed $200 with court costs.
Oregon Children one year and under, who weigh 20 pounds and less must use a rear facing car seat. Children 40 pounds and less must use a car seat that is age appropriate. Children between the ages of 8 and 15, and who are at least 4’9” may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $110.
Pennsylvania Children seven and younger must use car seats. Seat belt use is not allowed for young children. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $75.
Puerto Rico Children four and younger must use car seats. Children five-years-old may wear seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $100.
Rhode Island Children seven and younger, who weigh less than 80 pounds, and are less than 57” tall must use car seats. Children between 8 and 17-years-old, and who weigh 80 pounds may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $75.
South Carolina Children one and under or 20 pounds or less must use a rear facing infant seat. Those between one and five, and who weigh between 40 and 80 pounds, must use a booster seat that uses both lap and shoulder seat belts. The rear seat is preferable. Children over five-years-old and 80 pounds may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $150.
South Dakota Children five and younger and who weigh less than 40 pounds must use car seats. Children between the ages of 5 and 17 who weigh at least 40 pounds may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $25.
Tennessee Children one and under or 20 pounds or less must use a rear facing infant seat. Those between one and three and who weigh less than 20 pounds may use a forward facing seat. Children between 4 and 8 and are 57” or less may use a booster seat. The rear seat is preferable. Children between 9 and 15 and are at least 4’9” may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $50.
Texas Children seven and younger and less than 57” tall must use car seats. Seat belt use is not allowed for young children. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $25.
Utah Children seven and younger and less than 57” tall must use car seats. Children between the ages of 8 and 15 and who are at least 40 pounds may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $45.
Vermont Children one and under or 20 pounds or less must use a rear facing infant seat. Infants may sit in the front seat if there is no air bag or if it is deactivated. Children between the ages of 8 and 17 and who are at least 20 pounds may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $25.
Virgin Islands Children five and younger must use car seats. Children who are older than 5-years-old may wear seat belts. The maximum penalty ranges between $25 and $250.
Virginia Children seven and younger must sit in the back seat, or front as long as there is no working airbag. Children between the ages of 8 and 17, or who have a doctor’s note may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $50.
Washington Children eight and younger and less than 57” tall must use car seats. Rear seat is preferred. Children between the ages of 8 and 15 and are at least 40 pounds or stand at least 57” may use seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $124.
West Virginia Children seven and younger and less than 57” tall must use car seats. Children at least seven-years-old and standing at least 57” tall may wear seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $20.
Wisconsin Children one and under or 20 pounds or less must use a rear facing infant seat. Those between one and three, and who weigh between 20 and 40 pounds must use a forward facing seat. Children between 4 and 7 and weigh between 40 and 80 pounds may use a booster. The rear seat is preferable. Children at least 8-years-old, who weigh 80 pounds or more, or stand at least 57” tall, may wear seat belts. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $75.
Wyoming Children eight and younger must use car seats. Rear seat is preferable to front. Seat belt use is not allowed for young children. The maximum penalty for a first offense is $50.

Additional Resources

Find Insurance by State

Cheap Auto Insurance Alabama   | Cheap Auto Insurance Alaska   | Cheap Auto Insurance Arizona   | Cheap Auto Insurance Arkansas   | Cheap Auto Insurance California   | Cheap Auto Insurance Colorado   | Cheap Auto Insurance Connecticut   | Cheap Auto Insurance Delaware   | Cheap Auto Insurance Florida   | Cheap Auto Insurance Georgia   | Cheap Auto Insurance Hawaii   | Cheap Auto Insurance Idaho   | Cheap Auto Insurance Illinois   | Cheap Auto Insurance Indiana   | Cheap Auto Insurance Iowa   | Cheap Auto Insurance Kansas   | Cheap Auto Insurance Kentucky   | Cheap Auto Insurance Louisiana   | Cheap Auto Insurance Maine   | Cheap Auto Insurance Maryland   | Cheap Auto Insurance Massachusetts   | Cheap Auto Insurance Michigan   | Cheap Auto Insurance Minnesota   | Cheap Auto Insurance Mississippi   | Cheap Auto Insurance Missouri   | Cheap Auto Insurance Montana   | Cheap Auto Insurance Nebraska   | Cheap Auto Insurance Nevada   | Cheap Auto Insurance New Hampshire   | Cheap Auto Insurance New Jersey   | Cheap Auto Insurance New Mexico   | Cheap Auto Insurance New York   | Cheap Auto Insurance North Carolina   | Cheap Auto Insurance North Dakota   | Cheap Auto Insurance Ohio   | Cheap Auto Insurance Oklahoma   | Cheap Auto Insurance Oregon   | Cheap Auto Insurance Pennsylvania   | Cheap Auto Insurance Rhode Island   | Cheap Auto Insurance South Carolina   | Cheap Auto Insurance South Dakota   | Cheap Auto Insurance Tennessee   | Cheap Auto Insurance Texas   | Cheap Auto Insurance Utah   | Cheap Auto Insurance Vermont   | Cheap Auto Insurance Virginia   | Cheap Auto Insurance Washington   | Cheap Auto Insurance West Virginia   | Cheap Auto Insurance Wisconsin   | Cheap Auto Insurance Wyoming   | SiteMap|